|  Register
You are here : Government  >  Public Safety  >  Police Department


Image result for NHTSA traffic safety campaigns 


Image result for ohsp traffic safety images


   Image result for ohsp traffic campaign images

Our Department History

The Wayland Police Department was established in 1952.  It was reorganized under the city charter in 1966.  Prior to 1952, the Village of Wayland was served by village marshals from 1871 until the early 1900's when the village employed various night watchmen until 1952.  In 1952, the village approved the establishment of a police force and employed Wayland's first Chief of Police and a night shift sergeant. 

The Wayland Police Department is comprised of 7 full-time officers, 6 reserve officers and a police secretary.  The Department provides professional public safety services 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  The men and women of the Wayland Police Department are proud of our community and are committed to performing our law enforcement calling by our values of
"Duty, Integrity, and Service".

 For Emergencies: Call 911

For all non-emergency needs: 269-792-9366 / Fax:  269-792-0381

or Allegan County Central Dispatch: 269-673-3899

160 West Superior Street
Wayland, MI 49348


Steven Harper
Chief of Police
Mark Rookus
Tom Newberry
Police Officer
Mark Riemersma
Police Officer
Jonathan Schaefer
Police Officer
Eric Speese
Police Officer

Police Officer
Beth Ladousier
Office Secretary